About Me

I live with my family on the north west coast of Scotland in a little village called Gairloch. When I'm not climbing the local crags or up one of the hills I enjoy spending time with my partner, Scarlet, and my daughter, Willow who was born in 2019.

Gairloch is a fantastic place to live with local beaches and walks as well as the mountains and the sea on the doorstep. It has all the facilities you need as a family and a great community for Willow to grow up part of. I haven't always lived here though. Originally I was brought up in Exeter in the south west of England. I then followed an office career slowly eastwards towards london but my heart was always in the mountains. In 2013 I moved to wales for two years before converting a campervan and then living in that until 2017. A brief time was then spent lilving in north Cumbria before moving to Gairloch in 2019.

I went to university in Bath and quickly got invovled in the mountaineering club there, becoming the 'gear sec' and 'comms sec' while completing my degree in computer science. As part of the mountaineering club I went on trips all over the uk and further afield into europe gaining experience as a climber. After Uni I worked for a small business called Ents24 before moving to Snow and Rock as their e-commerce manager. The desire for being in the outdoors never left me and in 2013 I decided to leave the office career and start a new career as a mountaineering instructor by gaining an apprenticeship at the national mountain center, Plas y Brenin. Since then I've spent all the time I can exploring the mountain rangers of the UK which led me to Scotland and then Gairloch with its world class climbing and mountaineering locally.

In May 2019 my partner and I were lucky enough to have our wonderful daughter. She keeps us both well entertained and the love for the outdoors can be seen in her even at a very young age. I'm really looking forward to the next few family years sharing the outdoor experiences that I love with Willow and Scarlet (also a keen outdoor instructor and now mum).

A Few Favourite Things:

  • Food: Traditional Roast Dinner or Bolognaise
  • Spirit: Whisky, Dalwhinney 15yr old
  • Music: varied but I like a lot of modern folk music
  • Animals: Otters and Eagles